The Early Years Foundation Stage

Children learn and develop through playing, exploring and being creative. Staff plan activities using the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) . This sets out the learning and development stages for children as they grow from birth to five years.

This year Bishop’s Primary School has taken part in the DfE Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Reforms Early Adopter Programme. This has involved trialling the new EYFS framework, a link to which can be found below.

To download the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Document click here.

To download the Development Matters section of this document click here.

Within the EYFS there are three Prime areas and four Specific areas of learning and development and future learning. The Prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning. As children grow, the Prime areas will help them develop skills in the four Specific areas.

Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


Prime areas:

Communication and Language

This helps children to discover language through talking, thinking and listening to others.

Role playing – petrol station.


Physical Development

This gives the children the opportunity to develop their skills of co-ordination, control, manipulation and movement. The children are encouraged to think about the importance of a healthy and active lifestyle.

Throwing and catching.


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

This helps children to become confident and self-assured. It supports children to become interested, excited and motivated learners. They are encouraged to work together. Interests from home are valued and nurtured.

“I’m not giving up!” – Junior.


Specific areas:


To support children in their early reading and writing, they are encouraged to mark make, enjoy stories, rhymes and link sounds and letters.

Reading outside.



This area of learning includes counting, matching, sorting, seeing patters, making connections and recognising relationships through working with numbers, shape, space and measures.

Take away sticks.


Understanding the World

In this area of learning, children are developing the knowledge, skills and understanding that help them to make sense of their world.

Playing with dinosaurs.


Expressive Arts and Design

This area of learning provides the opportunity to explore and share their thoughts, ideas and feelings through music, movement, dance, imaginative and role play.

Making music.